First Nations Zone - Tools and Information

 

Many First Nations communities in Ontario choose to follow provincial training and certification requirements, and participate in Ontario’s Operator Certification and Training Program.

The Walkerton Clean Water Centre (WCWC) is committed to supporting First Nations drinking water systems in Ontario. Established in 2004, the Centre provides a state-of-the-art facility and highly skilled research and training staff to meet the specific needs of drinking water operators in Ontario, including operators in First Nations communities.

Operator Certification and Training

The Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation (OFNTSC), Keewaytinook Okimakanak/Northern Chiefs Council (KO) and the Walkerton Clean Water Centre (WCWC) have entered into a partnership to collaborate on projects that support drinking water operator training, certification and mentorship to First Nations communities in Ontario. Information about the projects being undertaken through this collaborative effort will be communicated to all First Nations communities in Ontario. Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) – OFNTSC, KO, WCWC



The Entry-Level Course for Drinking Water Operators (ELC) is being offered to operators of First Nations systems to help meet their training needs. The revised course offerings started in the fall of 2017.
ELC Introduction Letter to Tribal Councils in Ontario – September 2017

The ELC for First Nations provides operators with a basic understanding of water characteristics and public health, water science and mathematics, treatment and distribution systems.
A Guide to Drinking Water and Wastewater Operator Certification for First Nations

It is delivered over a two-week period:
- Week 1 – facilitated self-study with face-to-face instructor support
- Week 2 – classroom instruction and hands-on component delivered by two instructors

Registration for the ELC for First Nations is free of charge and course participants’ travel and accommodation expenses will be reimbursed based on the Ontario Government Travel Directive. The course is available to current operators in First Nations communities as well as others in the community who have an interest in becoming a drinking water operator.

Upcoming ELC for First Nations sessions:

Sioux Lookout - CLOSED
Week 1 – February 12 to 16
Week 2 – March 5 to 9

Sioux Lookout CLOSED 
Week 1 – May 28-June 1
Week 2 – June 18-22

Kenora – Clarion Lakeside Inn - CLOSED
Week 1 – June 25-29
Week 2 – July 16-20

Timmins – Ramada Timmins - CANCELLED
Week 1 – September 10-14
Week 2 – October 1-5

Dryden – Keewaytinook Centre for Excellence - Registration Form ELC FN
Week 1 – September 17-21
Week 2 – October 15-19

Belleville - Travelodge Hotel Belleville - Registration Form ELC FN
Week 1 – October 22-26
Week 2 – November 12-16

London – Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn - Registration Form ELC FN
Week 1 – November 19-23
Week 2 – December 10-14

For information on the operator certification program and how to obtain a certificate, visit the Ontario Water Wastewater Certification Office (OWWCO) website: www.owwco.ca.

For communities with small drinking water systems, visit our website's Small Systems Zone for training and resources related to small systems.

WCWC Support Services

WCWC offers a Helpline service for Ontario’s owners, operators, and operating authorities of drinking water systems and members from the public. Through this initiative, WCWC provides information, education and advice to address questions related to drinking water including treatment processes, equipment, operational requirements and environmental factors.
WCWC has a considerable amount of technical knowledge to offer and will strive to provide you with tailored information relating to your query.
Call the helpline toll free at 1-855-306-1155 or email helpline@wcwc.ca

WCWC is pleased to offer a new online service, the Drinking Water Resource Library. The Drinking Water Resource Library was developed to provide easy access to trusted resources related to drinking water. The library consists of a catalog of documents and features multiple search functions to ease the research of information. www.wcwc.ca/en/resources/

Zone des Premières Nations – Outils et information

 

De nombreuses communautés des Premières Nations de l’Ontario choisissent de suivre les exigences provinciales en matière de formation et de reconnaissance professionnelle et participent au Programme d’accréditation et de formation des exploitants de l’Ontario.

Le Centre de Walkerton pour l’assainissement de l’eau (CWAE) s’est engagé à soutenir les réseaux d’eau potable des Premières Nations de l’Ontario. Établi en 2004, le Centre fournit une installation à la fine pointe de la technologie et un personnel de recherche et de formation hautement qualifié pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques des exploitants de réseaux d’eau potable en Ontario, y compris les exploitants qui mènent leurs activités dans les communautés des Premières Nations.

Accréditation et formation des exploitants

Les organismes Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation (OFNTSC) et Keewaytinook Okimakanak/Northern Chiefs Council (KO) et le CWAE ont conclu un partenariat pour collaborer à des projets qui soutiennent la formation, l’accréditation et le mentorat en matière d’eau potable aux communautés des Premières Nations de l’Ontario. L’information sur les projets entrepris dans le cadre de cet effort de collaboration sera communiquée à toutes ces communautés. Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) – OFNTSC, KO, WCWC


Nous offrons le cours de base à l’intention des apprentis-exploitants afin de l’adapter aux exploitants de réseaux des Premières Nations et répondre à leurs besoins de formation. Les séances de cours révisées ont débuté à l’automne 2017.

Lettre de présentation du cours de base à l’intention des apprentis-exploitants adressée aux conseils tribaux de l’Ontario – septembre 2017

Le cours de base à l’intention des apprentis-exploitants pour les Premières Nations fournit une compréhension de base des caractéristiques de l’eau et des systèmes de santé publique, de science de l’eau et de mathématiques, de traitement et de distribution. 

Il est donné sur une période de deux semaines :

– Semaine 1 - formation autonome avec le soutien personnel d’un instructeur

– Semaine 2 - enseignement en classe et formation pratique par deux instructeurs

L’inscription au cours de base à l’intention des apprentis-exploitants pour les Premières Nations est gratuite, et les frais de déplacement et d’hébergement des participants au cours seront remboursés en vertu de la Directive sur les frais de déplacement du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Le cours est offert aux exploitants actuels des communautés des Premières Nations ainsi qu’à d’autres membres de la collectivité qui souhaitent devenir exploitants de réseaux d’eau potable.


Prochaines sessions du cours de base à l’intention des apprentis-exploitants pour les Premières Nations :

Sioux Lookout - FERMÉ
Semaine 1 – du 12 au 16 février
Semaine 2 – du 5 au 9 mars

Sioux Lookout – Days Inn Sioux Lookout - FERMÉ
Semaine 1 – du 28 au mai au 1 juin
Semaine 2 – du 18 au 22 juin

Kenora – Clarion Lakeside Inn - FERMÉ
Semaine 1 – du 25 au 29 juin
Semaine 2 – du 16 au 20 juillet

Timmins – Ramada Timmins - ANNULÉ
Semaine 1 – du 10 au 14 septembre
Semaine 2 – du 1 au 5 octobre

Dryden – Keewaytinook Centre for Excellence - FERMÉ
Semaine 1 – du 17 au 21 septembre
Semaine 2 – du 15 au 19 octobre

Belleville - Travelodge Hotel Belleville - FERMÉ
Semaine 1 – du 22 au 26 octobre
Semaine 2 – du 12 au 16 novembre

London – Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn
Semaine 1 – du 19 au 23 november
Semaine 2 – du 10 au 14 décembre

Pour obtenir de l’information sur le programme d’accréditation des exploitants et savoir comment obtenir un certificat, visitez le site Web du Bureau ontarien d’accréditation en matière d’eau et d’eaux usées (BOAE) : www.owwco.ca.

Pour les communautés ayant de petits réseaux d’eau potable, la Zone des petits réseaux de notre site Web contient des descriptions de cours et des ressources.

CWAE Services

Le CWAE offre un service aux propriétaires, exploitants et organismes d’exploitation de réseaux d’eau potable de l’Ontario ainsi qu’au grand public. Par le biais de cette initiative, le CWAE communique des informations, des enseignements et des conseils sur des questions liées à l’eau potable, notamment les procédés de traitement, l’équipement, les exigences opérationnelles et les facteurs environnementaux.
Le CWAE dispose d’une quantité considérable de connaissances techniques qu’il met à votre disposition et s’emploiera à vous fournir des informations personnalisées pour répondre à vos questions.
Appelez l’assistance téléphonique sans frais au 1-855-306-1155 ou envoyez un courriel à helpline@wcwc.ca

CWAE est heureux d’annoncer un nouveau service en ligne : la bibliothèque de ressources sur l’eau potable. Celle-ci a été conçue pour faciliter l’accès à des ressources fiables concernant l’eau potable. Composée d’un catalogue de documents, la bibliothèque propose de multiples fonctions pour faciliter la recherche d’informations.  www.wcwc.ca/fr/resources/